The Manheim Historical Society was founded in 1964 and is dedicated to preserving the past for the future. The Society has concentrated on the preservation of some of the landmarks that have characterized the borough of Manheim and surrounding areas, as well as collecting local historical artifacts. The Society relies solely on business partners, contributions and individual member dues to support its programs and maintain its properties.
The mission of the Manheim Historical Society is to collect, examine, interpret, and catalog the documents and artifacts of the town of Manheim and Penn and Rapho Townships. In doing so, the Society will engage and educate the public on the people, places, and events that helped to shape and create the heritage and history of Manheim and its surrounding areas.
Our Executive Board officers are always engaging members and the community on how to be active or stay active in helping to preserve our history.
The Railroad Station serves as an example of the expansion of the railway industry in Manheim. In addition to being a time capsule of railroad history, it is also a gathering hall and meeting space.Learn more
The Harry B. Shearer Heritage Center is the pillar of operations for the historical society. The Heritage Center gives members and the public the opportunity to explore Manheim’s past.Learn more
Located a few blocks away from where Henry William Stiegel erected his first glassworks in Manheim, Stiegel Glassworks fired its furnace in the bi-centennial celebration of American Independence.Learn more
Believed to be one of the oldest, early colonial-era German log cabins in Manheim, the Keath House is truly a gem of the historical society. It was moved to its current location in the late 1990’s.Learn more
The Fasig House, a German log cabin, was deconstructed in 1974 and moved to its current location on East High Street. Here visitors can find artifacts that date from the late 1700s to the late 1800s.Learn more
Known as the Birney Safety Car, this trolley car was manufactured in St. Louis, Missouri by the American Car Company. In 1947, the car was retired until it found its new home in Manheim in 1990.Learn more
The Howard Street Clock found its way into Manheim in 1926 and was moved to its current location in the square in 1994 and was restored in 2009.Learn more
Individual, family, life and business memberships available.